…and the winner is…

17feb25movies

“1939 is undoubtedly the most celebrated year in American film history – the year produced more outstanding films than any other 12-month period.”

Excerpt and image of winners and nominations: http://www.filmsite.org/aa39.html

A generation or two later, many of the 1939 films have stayed in the public’s mind.

AFI’s 100 Greatest American Movies Of All Time, as of 1998
4  GONE WITH THE WIND
6  THE WIZARD OF OZ
29 MR. SMITH GOES TO WASHINGTON
63 STAGECOACH
73 WUTHERING HEIGHTS

Excerpts: http://www.afi.com/100Years/movies.aspx

AFI’S 100 Greatest Movie Quotes Of All Time, as of 2005
1  Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn. GONE WITH THE WIND
4  Toto, I’ve a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore. THE WIZARD OF OZ
31 After all, tomorrow is another day! GONE WITH THE WIND
59 As God is my witness, I’ll never be hungry again. GONE WITH THE WIND
65 Elementary, my dear Watson. THE ADVENTURES OF SHERLOCK HOLMES
99 I’ll get you, my pretty, and your little dog, too! THE WIZARD OF OZ

Excerpts: http://www.afi.com/100Years/quotes.aspx

AFI is the American Film Institute.

Leave a Reply

